Follow us

Former England captain Michael Vaughan reacts to stumping incident in County Championship

 
Former England captain Michael Vaughan reacts to stumping incident in County Championship

Former England captain Michael Vaughan's active presence on Twitter has never been in doubt. Every now and then, he comes up with his opinions on the game. Majority of his tweets haven't received well by his fans and followers. Most of his opinions were "baseless" or "useless" according to the fans on social media.

Michael Vaughan has often targeted Indian players in the past. As they say, every action has an equal and opposite reaction, fans have jammed on his Twitter handle to roast the former England captain. Besides the fans, former Indian opener Wasim Jaffer has also joined the bandwagon to troll Vaughan many a time.

At times, Vaughan has also chipped in with sensible opinion on the game. The 46-year-old full-time pundit recently made the headlines when he reacted to the controversial stumping incident that took place during the English County Championship match between Leicestershire and Hampshire.

Michael Vaughan reacts to controversial stumping incident

Earlier, Hampshire completely channelised their aggression from the word go as they posted a colossal 612/5 in the first innings. Hampshire skipper James Vince scored a sensational double century and Liam Dawson scored 150. In reply, Leicestershire was bundled out for just 202. Meanwhile, Hampshire enforced a follow-on and as far as the second innings is concerned, Leicestershire made a good start.

When they were batting on 59/1, Hampshire wicket-keeper Lewis McManus stumped out Hassan Azad, in what looked like a controversial dismissal. The shocking incident took place in the 25th over of the game when Liam Dawson beat the outside edge of Hassan Azad’s willow and wicketkeeper Lewis McManus whipped the bails off with his left hand.

Later on, TV replays on the screen revealed that the ball was in McManus’s right hand when he whipped the bails with his other hand. Meanwhile, the umpire didn't notice this properly and made his decision "out" without any confusion. According to Law 29.1.1.5: “The wicket is put down if a bail is completely removed from the top of the stumps … by a fielder with his/her hand or arm, providing that the ball is held in the hand or hands so used, or in the hand of the arm so used.”


Former England captain Michael Vaughan tweeted about the incident adding that it was poor for the game. “Very poor this but I hope it is a lesson to him … All county games are now streamed so you can not get away with anything …”

From around the web

Trending Videos

Cricket Match Previews