Follow us

IND vs NZ LIVE: Guptill smokes Chahar for a maximum; Chahar takes a perfect revenge


IND vs NZ LIVE: Team India are locking horns with New Zealand in the first of the three-match T20I series. The match is currently taking place at Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur. Earlier, Indian T20I captain Rohit Sharma won the toss and opted to bowl first. Bhuvneshwar Kumar provided a terrific start to Team India by dismissing Daryl Mitchell for a golden duck early on in the game.

However, Martin Guptill and Mark Chapman steadied the ship by adding a 109-run stand for the second wicket. Ravichandran Ashwin provided a crucial breakthrough by shattering Chapman’s stumps. Chapman chipped in with a superb half-century. He scored 63 off 50 balls with the help of 6 fours and 2 sixes. The veteran off-spinner Ravi Ashwin deceived the new batsman Glenn Phillips with another tricky delivery.

Phillips was trapped plumb in front and was dismissed for a duck. Martin Guptill also scored a brilliant fifty and was en route to scoring a big knock. However, Deepak Chahar had other ideas. The battle between Guptill and Chahar turned out to be one of the biggest factors of the game. The incident took place during the 18th over of New Zealand’s innings.

IND vs NZ LIVE: Chahar makes a superb comeback to dismiss Martin Guptill

Martin Guptill decided to score runs at a quicker rate. He smoked Deepak Chahar for a no-look six off the very first ball. However, Chahar didn’t lose his confidence one bit. The fast bowler made a sensational comeback on the very next delivery. He bowled a full-length delivery to Guptill which tempted him to go for yet another shot.

Although he got elevation, Guptill lacked enough distance. Meanwhile, Shreyas Iyer took a good catch in his safe pair of hands at deep mid-wicket. Guptill departed for 70 off 42 balls including 3 fours and 4 sixes.

India’s playing XI: Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Venkatesh Iyer, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Mohammed Siraj

New Zealand’s playing XI: Martin Guptill, Daryl Mitchell, Mark Chapman, Glenn Phillips, Tim Seifert (wk), Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee (c), Todd Astle, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult

From around the web

Trending Videos

Cricket Match Previews