Follow us

Jos Buttler picks his all-time IPL XI; no place for Suresh Raina

Jos Buttler picks his all-time IPL XI; no place for Suresh Raina

England wicket-keeper Jos Buttler made his IPL debut when Mumbai Indians picked him in 2016. However, Rajasthan Royals acquired his services in the IPL 2018 mega auction. The decision paid off Rajasthan as Buttler did well for them in the cash-rich league.

Jos Buttler is one of the best hitters around the world and a limited-overs specialist. He proved his worth in the biggest T20 league as well as he gathered 1968 runs in 64 innings at a blasting strike rate of 150. When asked about his all-time IPL XI, Buttler picked himself and Indian batsman, Rohit Sharma, to open the innings.

Not a wrong choice considering Buttler has done well in his six seasons and Rohit's record needs no introduction. At No.3, he picked current Indian skipper Virat Kohli who is also the leading run-getter in the tournament history. Arguably there is no better choice than him at first down.

No Suresh Raina in IPL XI

At No. 4, he goes on with AB De Villiers who is one of the greatest IPL batsmen. He has won many games single-handedly and he is someone who can destroy any batsman on his day. Next is MS Dhoni, Buttler's idol and the greatest Indian wicket-keeper. Dhoni has an outstanding record in IPL and there is no better choice for a WK than him.

In the all-round section, Buttler picked Kieron Pollard and Ravindra Jadeja who would contribute in all departments. Both of them are capable of turning games with bat, ball and even fielding. They bring balance and variety to the side. Harbhajan Singh has been chosen as the leader in the spinning department. His record and experience speak for himself.

The fast bowling department will be lead by Lasith Malinga who is the leading wicket-taker in IPL history. The other two bowlers are Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah who have done excellently well in IPL. This trio has everything covered from pace, swing to death bowling.

Here’s Jos Buttler’s all-time IPL XI: Jos Buttler, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, MS Dhoni (WK), Kieron Pollard, Ravindra Jadeja, Harbhajan Singh, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Lasith Malinga.

From around the web

Trending Videos

Cricket Match Previews