Follow us

Kumar Dharmasena names his all-time XI; no place for MS Dhoni

kumar dharmasena

Kumar Dharmasena is one of the top and experienced umpires in the world. He first officiated in an ODI match between India and Sri Lanka in 2009. He was recruited to Elite Panel of ICC Umpires in 2011 after umpiring at the 2011 ICC World Cup. The Sri Lankan umpire stirred a controversy two years ago when he made a controversial decision in the 2019 World Cup final between England and New Zealand. 

The umpire himself made it clear that he never regrets the call where he granted six runs rather than 5 after Martin Guptill’s overthrow in the last over of the high-voltage clash. An important discussion happened on the field as Dharmasena consulted with square leg umpire Marais Erasmus. 

The open conversation was also audible to all the match officials. Although the Sri Lankan umpire confessed to the mistake, he also highlighted that he would never regret the decision he made. Dharmasena's controversial decision has been a subject of debate for a long time.

Kumar Dharmasena picks his all-time XI

Meanwhile, Dharmasena made the headlines once again, not for a controversial reason but for picking his all-time XI. For the unversed, Dharmasena played for Sri Lanka from 1993 until 2004. He was also a part of the 1996 Cricket World Cup winning squad. 

Interestingly, Dharmasena picked quite an interesting and well-balanced playing XI. The umpire's playing XI includes legendary names and this team could beat any team. Batsmen, fast bowlers and spinners make a formidable force and there is no doubt about that.

Dharmasena's all-time XI starts with former Australia's greatest opener Matthew Hayden followed by former Sri Lanka's dangerous opening batsman Sanatha Jayasuriya. Ricky Ponting who comes in at No.3 has been named the captain of the all-time XI. 

Sachin Tendulkar, who is widely recognized as the 'God of cricket' for his contributions to Indian cricket has been slotted at No.4 whereas West Indies' great Brian Lara comes in at No.5. Sri Lanka's legendary cricketer Kumar Sangakkara has been named the wicket-keeper of the squad.

Jacques Kallis, who is widely acknowledged as the world's greatest all-rounder in his prime, was slotted at No.7. Dharmasena picked 2 pacers and 2 spinners in the bowling department. Legendary pacers Wasim Akram and Glenn McGrath made it to the all-time XI while Muttiah Muralitharan and Shane Warne also made it to the XI.

Kumar Dharmasena's all-time XI

Matthew Hayden, Sanath Jayasuriya, Ricky Ponting (C), Sachin Tendulkar, Brian Lara, Kumar Sangakkara (WK), Jacques Kallis, Wasim Akram, Muttiah Muralitharan, Shane Warne, Glenn McGrath

From around the web

Trending Videos

Cricket Match Previews