Follow us

WION unveils list of highest-paid international cricket captains

joe root

A captain is the ultimate backbone of a cricket team. Captains are known to lead the team by example and are responsible for transmitting energy, motivation and confidence in the team. A team without a good captain cannot win matches. 

As we know clearly, cricket is not an individual game. Each and every effort of the player counts. In this case, a captain is responsible for bringing the best out of players. Captains get paid handsomely for their works they execute on the field. Now, WION has released the list of highest-paid international cricket captains.

8. Dimuth Karunaratne and Kusal Perera - Dimuth Karunaratne is leading Sri Lanka in Test cricket while Kusal Perara is leading the team in the limited-overs format. The Test captain bags an annual salary of USD 70,000 while the limited-overs captain earns $35,000 per year.

7. Babar Azam - Babar Azam is the captain of the Pakistan cricket team across formats. He is also one of the best batsmen in the business. The current No.1 ODI batsman earns an annual salary of 13.2 million PKR (₹62.40 lakh).

6. Kieron Pollard and Kraigg Brathwaite - Kieron Pollard is the captain of West Indies in the white-ball format whereas Kraigg Brathwaite is the Test captain. Pollard earns an annual salary of $250,000 (₹1.73 crores) while Brathwaite receives $200,000 (₹1.39 crores) per season.

5. Kane Williamson - Kane Williamson is the fab 4 batsman and is one of the very few players who maintained consistency in the game in this era. Kane, who leads New Zealand across formats, receives $440,000 a year including an additional bonus of $40,000 for being the captain of the Kiwis. 

4. Dean Elgar and Temba Bavuma - Dean Elgar is the captain of the South Africa cricket team in the longest format of the game while Bavuma is leading the side in ODIs and T20Is. Bavuma earns an annual contract of $350,000 while Elgar gets paid a yearly sum of $450,000.

3. Aaron Finch - Finch is the skipper of the Australian cricket team in the white-ball format. On the other hand, Tim Paine is the leader of the Test team. Finch and Paine receive Rs 4.87 crore annually.

2. Virat Kohli - Virat Kohli is the best batsman in the world because of the sheer consistency he brings to the game. He has maintained an average in excess of 50 across formats. He belongs to the A+ category in the BCCI contracts. Kohli bags a massive sum of INR 7 crore per year. Although he is not on top of the list as captain, he earns more through IPL, advertisements, brand endorsements and so on.

1. Joe Root and Eoin Morgan - Joe Root is the captain of the England cricket team in Test cricket while Eoin Morgan leads the team in limited-overs. Root is the highest-paid international captain as he receives Rs 8.97 crore while Morgan receives Rs 1.75 crore. 

From around the web

Trending Videos

Cricket Match Previews